HISTORICAL COLLECTION OF THE MOZARTEUM UNIVERSITY LIBRARY

The Mozarteum University Library has a collection of about 750 books and more than 1300 sheet music from before 1850. The focus is on works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and his musical environment (Michael Haydn, Anton Cajetan Adlgasser) as well on works with an explicit Salzburg reference. Our oldest book entitled "Stella clericorum" dates back to 1503 and deals with dignity and duties of priesthood. The oldest music print in our collection is the "Hymni sacri breviarii" by Pope Urban VIII. It represents a collection of songs of worship in choral notation with a beautiful leather cover and brass crest, which was made in 1684.

In the → library catalog, searches can be performed with the search terms hist (for books) or histm (for sheet music) and a list of these works will be generated. The "modify" function can be used to limit to the period, author, title, etc.

The repository also offers you the possibility to access the already digitized works of this collection → online. We are also happy to digitize works on → request.

Examples from our collection:

Haydn, Joseph: Melody and text of the Austrian folk anthem, various instrumentations, Vienna 1896. (officially approved version of the k.u.k. Reichs-War-Ministry, single copy in the Austrian network).

Pope Urban VIII: Hymni sacri breviarii Romani ... Salzburg 1684.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Idomeneo, piano reduction, Simrock 1798.

Kircher, Athanasius: Neue Hall und Thon Kunst, oder Mechanische Gehaim Verbindung der Kunst und Natur, (New Echo and Sound Art or Mechanical Secret Connection of Art and Nature) Nördlingen 1684.→ Scan

Rudolf of Austria: Homework of Ludwig van Beethoven, Vienna 1820. (40 variations of his pupil Rudolf of Austria).

Fux, Johann Joseph: Gradus ad Parnassum, Vienna, 1725. → Scan

Rousseau, Jean Jacques: Dictionnaire de musique, Paris, 1768. → Scan

Seeauer, Beda: Novissimum chronicon antiqui monasterii ad Sanctum Petrum Salisburgi ordinis sancti Benedicti (Chronicle of St. Peter), Augsburg 1772. → Scan

HISTORISCHER BESTAND DER UNIVERSITÄTSBIBLIOTHEK MOZARTEUM

Die Universitätsbibliothek Mozarteum verfügt über einen Bestand von ca. 750 Büchern und mehr als 1300 Notendrucken aus der Zeit vor 1850. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden dabei Werke von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und seinem Umfeld (Michael Haydn, Anton Cajetan Adlgasser) sowie Werke mit explizitem Salzburgbezug. Unser ältestes Buch mit dem Titel „Stella clericorum“ stammt aus dem Jahr 1503 und behandelt Würde und Pflichten des Priesteramts. Der älteste Musikdruck ist das „Hymni sacri breviarii“ von Papst Urban VIII. entstanden 1684, eine Sammlung von Gesängen im Gottesdienst in Choralnotation mit einem wunderschönen Ledereinband und Messingwappen.

Im → Bibliothekskatalog kann über die Suche mit den Suchbegriffen hist (für Bücher) bzw. histm (für Notendrucke) die Liste dieser Werke aufgerufen werden. Mit der Funktion „Modifizieren“ kann auf Zeitraum, Autor, Titel etc. eingeschränkt werden.  

Das Repositorium bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit auf die bereits digitalisierten Werke dieser Sammlung → online zuzugreifen. Auf → Anfrage digitalisieren wir gerne weitere Werke.  

Beispiele aus unserer Sammlung:

Haydn, Joseph: Melodie und Text der österreichischen Volkshymne, verschiedene Besetzungen, Wien 1896. (offiziell genehmigte Version des k.u.k. Reichs-Kriegs-Ministeriums, einziges Exemplar im österr. Verbund).

Papst Urban VIII: Hymni sacri breviarii Romani… Salzburg 1684.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Idomeneo, Klavierauszug, Simrock 1798.

Kircher, Athanasius: Neue Hall- und Thon-Kunst, oder Mechanische Gehaim-Verbindung der Kunst und Natur, Nördlingen 1684. → Scan:

Rudolf von Österreich: Aufgabe von Ludwig van Beethoven, Wien 1820. (40 Variationen seines Schülers Rudolf von Österreich).

Fux, Johann Joseph: Gradus ad Parnassum, Wien 1725. → Scan

Rousseau, Jean Jacques: Dictionnaire de musique, Paris 1768. → Scan

Seeauer, Beda: Novissimum chronicon antiqui monasterii ad Sanctum Petrum Salisburgi ordinis sancti Benedicti (Chronik von St. Peter), Augsburg 1772. → Scan